Voice of Korea mid-2012 schedule

North Korea’s international shortwave broadcaster, the Voice of Korea, will use the following schedule for English language broadcasts from April 30, 2012.

The radio station broadcasts two programs a day, each around 57 minutes long. Program one is carried on broadcasts aimed at South East Asia, the Middle East and North Africa, South Africa and Central and South America. Program two is carried on broadcasts for Europe, North America and North East Asia.

Each of these programs includes the same core features: the news, editorials and the reminiscences of Kim Il Sung. Music and other features sometimes differ between the two broadcasts.

They broadly follow along these lines:

:00 Opening signal, station identification: “This is Voice of Korea”
:01 National Anthem
:03 Song of General Kim Il Sung
:06 Song of General Kim Jong Il
:09 News, editorials (approx 15 minutes), followed by music
:30 Reminiscences of Great Leader President Kim Il Sung of the century
:40 Music and features
:50 Editorial, special message (occasional)
:55 Frequency information
:57 Close

The Voice of Korea has traditionally refreshed these programs, including the news, once a day during the daytime in Korea.

The news output follows closely the text of English-language stories from KCNA with minor editing. It’s generally a day behind the news being put out on the domestic service in Korean.

The schedule is expected to remain current until late October or November this year.

Many of the news items can be found on The Voice of Korea’s website. The station also broadcasts in French, Spanish, Arabic, German, Chinese, Japanese and Russian.

The schedule for English language broadcasts is:

[Updated April 29 to correct two typos]

0400 GMT (1pm Korea time) to North East Asia on 7220kHz and 9345kHz
0400 GMT (1pm Korea time) to Central and South America on 11735kHz, 13760kHz and 15180kHz
0500 GMT (2pm Korea time) to South East Asia on 13650kHz and 15100kHz
0600 GMT (3pm Korea time) to North East Asia on 9730kHz
1000 GMT (7pm Korea time) to South East Asia on 11735kHz and 13650kHz
1000 GMT (7pm Korea time) to Central and South America on 11710kHz and 15180kHz
1300 GMT (10pm Korea time) to North America on 9335kHz and 11710kHz
1300 GMT (10pm Korea time) to Europe on 13760kHz and 15245kHz
1500 GMT (midnight Korea time) to North America on 9335kHz and 11710kHz
1500 GMT (midnight Korea time) to Europe on 13760kHz and 15245kHz
1600 GMT (1am Korea time) to the Middle East and North Africa on 9990kHz and 11535kHz
1800 GMT (3am Korea time) to Europe on 13760kHz and 15245kHz
1900 GMT (4am Korea time) to the Middle East and North Africa on 9975kHz and 11535kHz
1900 GMT (4am Korea time) to Southern Africa on 7210kHz and 11910 kHz
2100 GMT (6am Korea time) to Europe on 13760kHz and 15425kHz
Source: On-air announcements.

1 Comment on "Voice of Korea mid-2012 schedule"

  1. Hi
    happy new year
    i am your regular listner my club members listn your programme please send us programme guide and calendar vok pennant.
    Im your fan
    from.
    Mohd Idrees
    president jinnah dx club ward no 12 house no 326 layyah pakistan

Comments are closed.